3 Odia players find place in Indian Junior Men’s Hockey team for Sultan of Johor Cup

New Delhi: Three Odia hockey stars have been selected in Indian Junior Men’s Hockey team as Hockey India on Wednesday named an 18-member squad for the upcoming 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 to be held from 6th to 13th October in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

They are Shilanand Lakra, Suman Beck and Pankaj Kumar Rajak.

While Shilanand Lakra has been named as Vice-Captain in forward line, Pankaj Kumar Rajak was added to the team as goalkeeper. Suman Beck will play as the defender.

The team will be led by Captain Mandeep Mor.

The Indian team is scheduled to play a total of five round-robin matches against Malaysia, New Zealand, Japan, Australia and Great Britain. The top two teams at the end of the round-robin matches will face each other in the Final on 13th October 2018 whereas the remaining four teams will play classification matches.

“We have selected the team for the 8th Sultan of Johor Cup 2018 keeping in mind the exposure that these young players will be getting at the tournament. We will be up against some of the best teams in the youth category, and we believe that this set of players can challenge the other teams for the title in Johor Bahru. Coach Jude Felix has tried different combinations during our tour of Belgium earlier this year and during the National Camp in Bengaluru, and these 18 players have shown great ability and desire to succeed. It will be a crucial tournament for some of the athletes as this will be their first major assignment with the Indian Junior team, but I am sure that it will be a learning curve to remember for all the players which shall help in their development,” stated David John, Director, High Performance, Hockey India.

Junior Men’s Team:

Goalkeepers: Kamalbir Singh, Pankaj Kumar Rajak

Defenders: Suman Beck, Mohd. Faraz, Somjeet, Mandeep Mor (Captain), Prince, Varinder Singh

Midfielders: Yashdeep Siwach, Harmanjit Singh, Vishnu Kant Singh, Gopi Kumar Sonkar, Vishal Antil, Haspreet Singh

Forwards: Gursahabjit Singh, Abhishek, Prabhjot Singh, Shilanand Lakra (Vice-Captain)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top