Bhartruhari Mahatab conferred Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017

New Delhi: BJD MP Bhartruhari Mahatab was conferred the Outstanding Parliamentarian Award for 2017 for his overall contribution in the Indian Parliament.

President Ram Nath Kovind conferred the award on Mahatab at a special programme in the central hall of Parliament in Presence of Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

A member of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) Mahatab was elected to the 12th Lok Sabha in 1998 from Cuttack constituency in Odisha. He was re-elected to the Lok Sabha in 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014 from the same constituency. He received the outstanding parliamentarian award 2017. He is also the recipient of Sansad Ratna Award 2017 and 2018 for his outstanding performance in debates.

Similarly, Trinamool Congress member of the Lok Sabha Dinesh Trivedi received the award for 2016 and Leader of Opposition in the Rajya Sabha Ghulam Nabi Azad (Congress) for 2015. Former Rajya Sabha member Najma Heptulla got the award for 2013 and Lok Sabha member Hukumdev Narayan Yadav for 2014. Both are from BJP.

The names were shortlisted by a committee headed by Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top