CM Naveen to contest from western Odisha!

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister and Biju Janata Dal (BJD) president Naveen Patnaik is likely to contest Assembly election from western Odisha.

Western Odisha comprising 11 districts accounts for a third of the seats in the 147-member Odisha Legislative Assembly as well as a third of the 21 Lok Sabha seats in the State.

Several heavyweight BJD leaders from western Odisha met Patnaik at Naveen Niwas here and requested him to contest Assembly election from western Odisha region.

“Leaders, farmers, women and youths of western Odisha have come and requested me to contest from western Odisha. And I am considering it seriously,” said the four-time Chief Minister after the meeting.

Senior leaders like Rajya Sabha member Prasanna Acharya and almost all the MLAs and MPs and leaders of different forums and outfits, including farmers, women and Padma Shri Haldar Nag of western Odisha region met Patnaik today.

The Chief Minister is now representing Hinjli Assembly constituency in Ganjam district.  Since 2000, the Chief Minister is representing Hinjili constituency continuously.

Recently, two Congress heavyweights – Naba Das (Jharsuguda) and Jogesh Singh (Sundergarh) joined the BJD.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top