CWG 2018: Four Odia female hockey players in 18-member Indian Women’s Team

New Delhi: Four female players from the State, Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Deep Grace Ekka and Lilima Minz have been picked up in the Indian Women Hockey team to take part in the upcoming Gold Coast Commonwealth Games-2018.

While Sunita Lakra and Deep Grace Ekka play as defenders, Namita Toppo and Lilima Minz play as Midfielders.

Ace striker Rani Rampal will captain the 8-strong Indian women’s team, while experienced goalkeeper Savita will shoulder the duties of vice-captain during the Commonwealth Games which is scheduled to be played in Gold Coast in Australia from April 4 to April 15.

The Indian team, currently ranked No-10 in the world, has been grouped in Pool-A along with England, South Africa, Malaysia and Wales. They will begin their completion against Wales on April 5.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top