Legislative Council creation bid: Panel to visit Bihar, AP soon

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Tuesday approved visit of a five-member committee formed to help State Government in setting up of a Vidhan Parishad (Legislative Council) to Bihar and Andhra Pradesh to study functioning of Councils there.

The decision of the CM assumed significance in view of the ongoing differences among senior party leaders in the BJD.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in 2015 formed a five-member panel to study functioning of Legislative Councils in other States to study the formation of councils and gather knowledge about the State’s move.

The committee has three members from the ruling BJD and one each from opposition parties Congress and BJP. The five are Minister Nrusingha Sahu, Pramila Mallick and Manohar Randhari (all BJD), Bhujbal Majhi (Congress) and Nitesh Gangdev (BJP).

Earlier, the five-member panel along with the Secretaries of the Odisha Assembly and the Parliamentary Affairs Department had visited Maharashtra and Karnataka to study the functioning of the legislative councils there.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top