Naba Das resigns as Jharsuguda MLA

Bhubaneswar: Four days after joining BJD, Naba Kishore Das today resigned from the membership of Odisha Legislative Assembly.

He tendered his resignation to Speaker Pradeep Amat after meeting him at his office. Law Minister Pratap Jena was also present while he handed over the resignation letter to the Speaker.

“As I joined the BJD recently, I don’t have any moral right to remain in office. As a good law maker, I resigned from the Assembly membership”, Das reacted to media fter resignation.

Das was elected to Assembly from Jharsuguda constituency twice on Congress ticket. He recently resigned from the primary membership of Congress and quit his post as working president of Odisha Pradesh Congress committee.

He formally joined the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) on January 24 at a public meeting at Jharsuguda in presence of Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik.

Several of his supporters, including Zilla Parishad President and other Panchayati Raj functionaries, also had joined the BJD on the occasion.

On the day of joining, he had also announced his decision to quit as MLA.

Das had on January 16 resigned from the primary membership of the Congress party and announced his decision to join the BJD.

Das also resigned from the post of MLA on the day. He sent his resignation letter to State Assembly Speaker Pradeep Amat.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top