Odisha Congress revamped with Niranjan Patnaik as new OPCC chief

New Delhi/Bhubaneswar: Setting aside all speculations, the All India Congress Committee (AICC) today appointed senior party leader and former minister Niranjan Patnaik as the new president of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC).

This was announced by party general secretary in-charge of Odisha Jitendra Singh after a meeting with senior State leaders including Narasingh Mishra, Prasad Harichandan, Naba Das, Chiranjeeb Biswal, Pradeep Majhi. All met at the residence of party supremo Rahul Gandhi.

“Experienced leader Niranjan Patnaik has been appointed as the new Pradesh Congress Committee president while MLA Naba Das and Chiranjeev Biswal and former lok sabha MP Pradeep Majhi have been given the charge of working president of the OPCC,” Jitendra Singh informed media.

Through a press release, the AICC also informed that State in-charge Jitendra Singh has been appointed as the Coordination Committee chief while senior leader Jagannath Patnaik was made its convener.

Former Chief Minister Hemananda Biswal became Discipline Committee president while former union minister Bhakta Das has been appointed as the president of Campaign Committee.

Ex-PCC President Jayadev Jena has been entrusted with the job of Core Committee president. Similarly, the AICC has made former Union Minister Srikant Jena as Manifesto Committee chief while Sarat Patnaik as its Convener.

After the announcement, Niranjan Patnaik said strengthening Congress in Odisha has emerged as big challenge for him. “If we work collectively, the Congress party will regain its strength again. We will work hard to boost the party at grassroots level. I hope people will repose their faith on Congress. Congress.”

“Odisha as well as the entire country is grappling with acute unemployment and many other problems. Congress is the only party which can resolve all problems,” he said.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top