Poll dates out; Four phases election in Odisha to begin from April 11

New Delhi: Odisha will go to the polls for both for Legislative Assembly and Lok Sabha simultaneously in four phases starting April 11. The election will conclude in the State on April 29, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora informed in a press conference in Delhi.

Four Parliamentary constituencies in Odisha will go to the poll on April 11 while votes will be conducted in five constituencies on April 18. Similarly, voters of six Lok Sabha constituencies will exercise their franchise on April 23 and other six constituencies will go to the election on April 29.

The other States where poll will be conducted in four phases are Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh and Maharashtra. However, Jammu and Kashmir Assembly Elections will not happen simultaneously with the Lok Sabha elections, EC said, citing security concern.

The EC also announced dates for other States like Andhra Pradesh, Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh besides Odisha, which will go to poll for Assembly and Lok Sabha simultaneously.

The general election 2019 will be spread across seven phases in the country this time.

The States and Union Teritories (UTs) which will go for a single phase election are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman and Nicobar, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Lakshadweep, New Delhi, Pondicherry and Chandigarh

Here are the states which will have two or more polling phases:

Two phases: Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan, Tripura

Three phases: Assam, Chhattisgarh

Four phases: Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha

Five phases: Jammu and Kashmir

Seven phases: Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, West Bengal.

Counting of votes of all phases will be held on May 23, Arora added.

The model code of conduct has been enforced from today itself and anyone found violating it will be dealt with strictly, CEC Sunil Arora told media persons.

There will be approximately 10 lakh polling stations in this Lok Sabha Elections as compared to 9 lakh polling stations in 2014, Chief Election Commissioner said.

Voter-verifiable paper audit trails will be used along with electronic voting machines in all the booths. A total of 17.4 lakh VVPAT units will be used, said Sunil Arora.

90 crore people will vote this year; the number of total voters has gone up from 81 crore to 90 crore. 1.5 crore new voters registered in the age group of 18 to 19, the CEC added.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top