Santhali speaking MPs can deliver speech in mother tongue in Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha seats from Odisha

Bhubaneswar: The Rajya Sabha today added a new page in its history by inducting five more Indian languages including Santhali. The MPs whose mother tongue is Sathali can deliver speech in the upper House with his own medium from the forthcoming monsoon session.

Apart from Sathali, Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani and Sindhi were also inducted. The Rajya Sabha Secretariat has arranged for simultaneous interpretation facility for five more languages.

Without any barrier, Rajya Sabha members will be able to speak in the House in any of the 22 Indian languages listed in the 8th Schedule of the Constitution, Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu said.

Naidu formally inducted the interpreters for these languages on Tuesday.

Of the 22 scheduled languages, Rajya Sabha has earlier established Simultaneous Interpretation Service for 12 languages — Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top