‘Titli’ aftermath: Ministerial committee to monitor relief & rescue operations; Puja holidays of secretariat staff cancelled

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Friday constituted a three-member ministerial committee appointing Revenue Minister Maheswar Mohanty, Water Resources Minister Niranjan Pujari and Energy Minister Sushanta Singh as its members.

The committee will visit Ganjam, Gajapati and Rayagada districts which worst hit by cyclone ‘Titli’ and subsequent flood and monitor the relief and rescue operations. They will also assess the damages caused by the deluge.

The general Administration department has issued letter to all secretaries and Collectors of Central and southern range to make necessary arrangements for opening of all government offices during puja vacation.

In a tweet, SRC informed “Considering the impact of cyclonic storm “#Titli” and consequent flood thereafter, the Government has decided that all the offices would remain open during the Puja vacation/Govt. holidays till 24.10.2018. All kinds of leaves sanctioned earlier stands cancelled till 24.10.2018”.

The CM also asked the Special Relief Commissioner (SRC) to submit a report on the assessment of the damage to the houses, crops and animal resources within a week.

Earlier in the day, chief minister Naveen Patnaik through a video conferencing directed the collectors of cyclone-hit districts to provide free cooked food to the affected people for seven days.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top