Ace hockey star Lilima Minz selected for Ekalabya Puraskar for 2018.

Bhubaneswar: Ace woman hockey star Lilima Minz has been selected to receive Ekalabya Puraskar for 2018.

The Ekalabya Committee jury members unanimously selected her for the prestigious award.

The award comprising a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation would be presented to the hockey star at the Ekalabya Award function.

Minj has a brilliant international and national track record. She was a member of the Indian women hockey team that won the bronze medal in the 17th Asian Games at Incheon (South Korea). She was also a part of Indian Women Hockey squad in Rio Olympic Games.

Besides Minj, weight lifter Jhili Dalbehera and Badminton player Rutuparna Panda will be felicitated for their remarkable performances at various International & National level in their respective fields. Both will receive a cash prize of Rs 50,000 each along with citations.

The Ekalabya award was started in 1993. The Puraskar, an annual award given to young upcoming sportspersons has come a long way to be recognized as the most prestigious sports award of Odisha, drawing parallels with many national awards.

The award has been instituted by IMPaCT, the social wing of IMFA, which has been promoting literature, sports, art, culture and other socially meaningful activities in the State for decades.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top