Congress removes Srikant, appoints Ganeswar as Manifesto Committee chief

Bhubaneswar: Senior Congress leader Ganeswar Behera has replaced former Union Minister and senior party leader Srikant Jena as chairperson of the Congress Manifesto Committee for the ensuing Assembly poll in Odisha.

Leader of Opposition in the Assembly Narasingha Mishra, former Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee president Prasad Harichandan, Shyam Sundar Hansdah, Natabar Khuntia, Liaquat Ali and Satya Prakash Nayak, Sudarshan Das and Mary Surin have been appointed as members of the committee.

Bismaya Mohapatra has been appointed as the convener of the committee.

In April, Srikant Jena’s letter to the All-India Congress Committee (AICC) has created ripples in the party.

“The Congress, if voted to power, will select chief minister and two deputy chief ministers from among OBC/ SEBC (54%), SC (16%) and ST (22.5%) communities. This will enable equitable representation for all section of the society since these communities are collectively 92 per cent of the Odisha’s population and ensure the rule of Bahujan,” Jena had written.

According to the release, Congress President Rahul Gandhi made the changes in the Odisha unit to put the party in poll mode amid efforts by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) to make inroads in the State.

Meanwhile, Odisha Congress Committee president Niranjan Patnaik congratulated the newly appointed team members.

“Congratulations to all the newly appointed members of the Manifesto Committee for Odisha Vidhan Sabha Elections, 2019. Let’s work together to give the people the best manifesto which will capture the vision of the Congress party for a new glorious Odisha,” tweeted Patnaik.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top