House Committee constituted to probe Abhijit Ayer’s remark

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Assembly Speaker Pradeep Kumar Amat today constituted a House Committee appointing Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra as its head to probe the derogatory and controversial remarks of one Abhijit Ayer-Mitra against Odisha, its culture, heritage, Jagannath temple, Konark temple and Odisha MLAs.

MLAs like Devi Mishra (BJD), KV Singhdeo(BJP), Arun Sahoo (BJD),Pramila Mallik (BJD),Sanjay Dasburma (BJD) are the members of the committee.

The panel will probe into what led Iyer to make such statement against Odisha, which hurt the sentiment of crores of Odia people.

The panel will submit its report to the Speaker on the first day of next Assembly session.

The House committee was formed following an all-party meet convened by Speaker Pradeep Amat to discuss the issue.

The matter was raised in the Assembly during discussion on a privilege motion moved against him by Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra.

The Speaker accepted the privilege motion and cancelled today’s Question Hour.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top