RS polls: Nominations of three BJD candidates found valid after scrutiny

Bhubaneswar: The nominations of all the three candidates of the ruling BJD were found to be valid, informed Returning Officer Rajesh Prabhakar Patil on Tuesday.

On the other hand, the nomination of sole independent candidate Subash Mohapatra was rejected due to lack of proposers in support of his candidature.

The candidatures of Prashanta Nanda, media baron Soumya Ranjan Patnaik and KIIT and KISS founder Dr Achyuta Samanta were found to be valid after the scrutiny.

On March 9, the trio had filed their nominations before the Returning Officer Rajesh Prabhakar Patil at the State Assembly Conference Hall in the presence of Chief Minister and party president Naveen Patnaik and other BJD stalwarts.

Soumyaranjan and Samanta had joined the ruling BJD party on the morning of March 7 and they were picked as the party representative for the upcoming Upper House polls by the CM in the evening.

The CM had also named Nanda for the Rajya Sabha polls on the same day.

Notably, the Rajya Sabha seats in Odisha are among total 58 seats which would go to poll on March 23. Elections to three seats in Odisha will be held as tenure of Dilip Tirkey, AU Singhdeo and BJD-backed independent candidate AV Swami would complete in April, 2018.

Keeping the number of MLAs of the ruling BJD in the state assembly (117 MLAs in the 147-member house), all the three vacant Rajya Sabha seats are likely to go in favour of the ruling party. Hence, the election is merely a formality.

Notably on March 23, the voting to elect 58 members to the Rajya Sabha from different states will take place. The balloting will take place between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. March 15 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top